Short Sale Update

So, if you actually read my blog and are wondering what’s going on with the Short Sale I mentioned, ( https://joan9.wordpress.com/2010/06/16/short-sale/ ) I’ll tell you.

I put in a bid on June 16th. The seller accepted and made a counter offer on June 17th, and I accepted and signed the paperwork on June 21st. This means I’m in a holding pattern while waiting to see if the lenders (there are two) approve of my offer. I can walk away at any point even though I signed escrow papers, since  the Short Sale Addendum I signed states the buyer can keep looking since it’s a short sale. (Often, short sales fall through since lenders will reject the buyer).

If I get this place, there’ll be work to do. It seems they have kids who like to color on walls and floors. New paint, new flooring, new counter top in the bathroom, at least.. but since it’s a lower price, it’s OK that I have to sink some money in for renovations. The truth is, I don’t have to put any money into renovations, but I’d want to. The bathroom counter wasn’t in as good shape as the kitchen was, so I’d probably see how much it costs to replace it and the bathroom sink as well.

I don’t want to get my hopes up since short sales fall through, so I also keep looking at the open houses, and have seen some interesting ones. Shopping for a place to live has been a good experience so far. I think I’ve never really known the buildings and streets of Honolulu as well as I’m starting to now.

Just an update on July 4th. Happy 4th to those out there celebrating!

Leave a comment